19

The Pirates lost their 82nd game today, clinching their 19th straight losing season. That is more Pirate baseball seasons then I can actually remember. My earliest memories of Pirate baseball dates back only to 1997 or 15 seasons. This season had its magical moments but it has ended up just the same as the 18 ones before it. Some people may wonder why I someone who has no memories of this team ever winning is so passionate about this club. I honestly don’t know. There is just something about it that attracts me to them. I am in my early 20s and I am fast realizing that my childhood days are gone but when I watch the Pirates I feel them again. It brings back memories of simpler times, times when baseball was king (at least to me). Further more although the tradition of this team has tarnished in recent seasons it is still there. I ask myself after 19 losing seasons and with many of the legends having passed on what keeps it going. There is only one thing I can think of and that is the fans. Some call us die-hards but I say those guys have started to fade away; no we aren’t die-hards we are never-die fans. We will be there supporting the Bucs no matter what. Not because they are winning, not because we support every move they make, not because we like the owner, the front office, the manager or even the players but because they are our team. We are what keeps this proud franchise going and we will continue to be there throughout all the losing and maybe … just maybe through a little bit of winning as well.

Lets Go Bucs!

Leave a Reply

