2012 Early Preview: Internal Options

Just looking at players who the Pirates currently have under control for next year, excluding players with options.

Catchers: Michael McKenry, Jason Jaramillo, Eric Fryer

1st Base: Garrett Jones, Matt Hague, Steve Pearce

2nd Base: Neil Walker, Chase d’Arnaud, Josh Harrison

3rd Base: Pedro Alvarez, Chase d’Arnaud, Josh Harrison, Brandon Wood

Shortstop: Chase d’Arnaud, Brandon Wood, Pedro Ciriaco

Left Field: Alex Presley, Jose Tabata

Center Field: Andrew McCutchen

Right Field: Jose Tabata, Alex Presley, Garrett Jones, Matt Diaz, Xavier Paul

Starting Pitcher: Charlie Morton, James McDonald, Jeff Karstens, Kevin Correia, Brad Lincoln, Ross Ohlendorf, Rudy Owens, Justin Wilson, Jeff Locke, Aaron Thompson

Relief Pitcher: Joel Hanrahan, Evan Meek, Jose Veras, Tony Watson, Chris Resop, Daniel McCutchen, Jason Grilli, Chris Leroux, Bryan Morris, Daniel Moskos, Jared Hughes, Starters that don’t make rotation

The amazing thing is of all the above players the only ones I see that are basically guaranteed to make the roster next season are: Neil Walker, Alex Presley, Jose Tabata, Andrew McCutchen, Charlie Morton, James McDonald, Jeff Karstens, Kevin Correia, Joel Hanrahan, Evan Meek, Tony Watson

If I had to guess on the current incumbents:

C: McKenry

1B: Jones

2B: Walker

3B: Alvarez

SS: d’Arnaud

LF: Presley

CF: McCutchen

RF: Tabata

C: Jaramillo

IF: Wood

IF: Pearce

OF: Diaz

OF: Paul

SP: Morton

SP: McDonald

SP: Karstens

SP: Lincoln

SP: Correia

LR: Ohlendorf

MR: Resop

MR: McCutchen

MR: Watson

SU: Veras

SU: Meek

CL: Hanrahan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s